Adventures with Little Miss



Guess Who I Met!!!

Well last night I went to the Around the Bay Knitting guild. I was actually talking to my girlfriend who was on her way to the Guild when I invited myself (I didn’t want her to go alone) to a new group. Well we were not sure who or what was going on. When I did get there, a woman was discussing knitting at the front of the room. She was discussing books she had written and items she had made. I was thinking to myself ahh cool someone who has wrote a knitting book. Then she went on – AND mention oh blah blah Sally… Oh my I thought…. Is this? No, it couldn’t be. Could it? IT WAS!!

Sally Melville!!

As you all could imagine I was in Aww – I am meeting a famous (well I would say she is famous) knitter!! She was discussing Creativity! She had a lot of great information and was able to include all areas of life to prove the art of creativity. She discussed the Flow zone. That we as knitters when we begin we have little skills so we should make items contrary to our skills and build on that – yet I am the knitter who has little skills (initially) and who have BIG ideas! Yet that is ok because it makes me to make more interesting items.

The “Einstein Coat” by Sally Melville and I – This is the actual sweater SHE Knit! I feel in aww holding it!

I asked Sally – What is the best tip for a new knitter? She replied … just knit! and make something big… those who make scarves all the time don’t (may not necessarily) have that satisfaction of learning something new as if you were a big item creator! So I think I will take her advice and just dive in!! She also mentioned that we must make something WE the knitter would wear – it is one thing to make things for others or just to make it – but we have to just make that little grey cardigan. So I think I am going to make a plain sweater… in a great and soft fiber (i am thinking a cotton maybe?) so it is easily washable and will BREATHE!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. New Project! « Adventures with Little Miss pingbacked on 6 years, 6 months ago
  2. An act of creativity « Adventures with Little Miss pingbacked on 6 years, 6 months ago

Comments

  1. Wow! That is so cool that you met a knit celebrity! Sounds like you got a lot of advice and encouragement.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 6 months ago
  2. * Jessica says:

    You must have been so excited! That is great that you got to meet her!

    By the way, I think this is my first visit to your blog, feel free to stop by and say hello at my blog as well.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 6 months ago


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

