Adventures with Little Miss



The New Knitter

So last Wednesday night I attended a Crochet/Knitting group at a local cafe. Where I met a lovely bunch of people, who all were knitting. Some mentioned that they do crochet as well. They were all very welcoming and answered all my questions – What are those? What is that going to be? How do you do that?
And finally: Can someone teach me how to knit?
Which was answered with a resounding Yes! I was invited to come over and learn to knit on the coming Saturday.

On Friday I went to the library between the wash and dry cycle (at the Laundromat – landlord is to lazy to put in Washers and Dryers here) to get some “Learning to Knit Books”. This from my adventures with crocheting is never a safe trip for my boyfriend… He would tell you I become very involved with what project/craft I am embarking on. So I took out 3 books, and borrowed needles (US 4) from my girlfriend, and the journey had begun. We returned to the Laundromat to put the clothes in the dryer and I had 33 minutes to figure out how to cast on 20 stitches and begin to knit. Well it only took me 17 minutes to figure out how to and cast on 20 stitches. Then I was off to the races. I knit many rows and then wanted to purl. And from there it all went somewhat wonky. I soon had 31 stitches and then 46 stitches. So I decided I would stop…. We went to Chapters later that evening where I found 6+ books I thought were interesting (On knitting of course)…. We came home and relaxed.

On Saturday, I took my knitting mess over to our little “learn to knit” gathering where I found out – I wasn’t bad… I had the right idea and was on the right track! Hooray! So my friend helped me to read the Mason Dixon Dishcloth pattern… and that is what will be my first project. I will work on it over the next few days and will provide updates.

Tips are always welcome for this new Knitter

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. Looks great so far! That dishcloth looks really interesting to make. I’ve seen Swisher covers that are made with that same stitch.
    I’m also learning the finer points of knitting. I’ve got purl and knit down, but now I’m trying to figure out all the rest.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 6 months ago


Leave a Reply

