Adventures with Little Miss



Funky Knitting

I should rephrase the title – I am in a Knitting Funk!!! I have borrowed many books from the Library: (1) Speed Knitting: 24 Quick and Easy Projects (2) Stephanie Pearl-McPhee Cast Off: The Yarn Harlots guide to the land of Knitting (3) Twinkle Big City Knits. Plus I have borrowed One Skein from a very wise knitter. So I have continued to work on my crochet clutch… and I am now trying to figure out what would be the best way for me to line the clutch.

My current issues with my Knitting- I have a lot of acrylic yarn and in my previous Stash post I only have one or two balls. So I am not sure what to make with it. I have also a 1″ binder with a lot of great patterns and I still don’t know what to make. I know that Kelly Petkun, who has the KnitPicks Podcast, had an episode that discussed the same knitting funk. She used Elizabeth Zimmerman’s Knitter Almanac to be her muse as what to do. I have requested this book from the Library yet I still have to wait a bit longer. What to knit, what to knit.

To my loyal readers I am open for any suggestions as to how to escape my funk!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Marsha says:

    I’m been in a knitting funk myself for a few weeks: swatching, casting on, deciding after an hour or two that it just wasn’t working, frogging. Rinse and repeat.

    I think I may be on the way out of it, though. My stash isn’t huge, but it takes up enough space that I’ve decided to spend the first several months (at least) of this year knitting from it. So I just looked through my yarn and asked myself, “Which yarn looks like it would be FUN to knit?” Once I chose the yarn, I did some swatching…THEN I figured out what to do with it.

    Usually the pattern inspires me first and dictates the yarn, but this time I let the yarn lead the way. It’s an interesting exercise (for me, at least) in approaching knitting from a different angle. Maybe something like this can help you escape your own funk?

    Good luck!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  2. * Knifty says:

    This wise knitter would be more than happy to lend you the Knitter’s Almanac. Although I don’t know if it will be the muse you are looking for.

    Maybe we should sit down and talk about what knitting goals you’d like to accomplish. And given your love of swatching maybe an afghan might be a good idea.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

