Adventures with Little Miss



A Bookish Knitter

Here are is a list of a few books I have borrowed from the local library! Some I will add to my personal library!

Knitting Stitches: Over 300 Contemporary and Traditional Stitch Patterns by Mary Webb à I do not like this book in anyway. I hate how it is laid out. The stitch patterns swatches do not do justice. I feel this book was poorly though out.

Super Stitches Knitting: Knitting Essentials Plus a Dictionary of More Than 300 Stitch Patterns by Karen Hemingwayà This Stitch Dictionary I was recommend for all knitters. The pages and stitches are beautifully laid out. It is easy for a new knitting (as I am) to understand what is required for each stitch. This book I showed to seasoned knitters and I know a few who have purchased it for their personal collections. ALL KNITTERS SHOULD OWN THIS BOOK!

Mason-Dixon Knitting: The Curious Knitters’ Guide: Stories, Patterns, Advice, Opinions, Questions, Answers, Jokes, and Pictures by Kay Gardiner and Ann Meador Shayne à This was the first knitting book i picked up when I first started. You could say I was drawn to the book. I must thank Kay and Ann for their advice and humour throughout the book. I love the patterns and the little added flare from both the women in the book. Countless projects I have from this text – The Ballband Dishcloth, the Peak-a-boo Lace Curtain, and the Piano Bench Cover are my favourite.

Knitting Rules!: The Yarn Harlot’s Bag of Knitting Tricks by Stephanie Pearl-McPhee à No one can say anything bad about this book. The Yarn Harlot is filling her big shoes. She is wrote a witty and factual book about knitting. This book provides you with the nitty gritty on how to make items. Socks, Scarves, Hats and so on. She tells you how to make a basic item, and lets you run with it so to say. This is another important book for NEW Knitters!

Stylish Knits for Dogs: 30 Projects to Knit in a Weekend by Ilene Hochberg à As some know in the blogosphere I have a Scottish Terrier, Dexter, who I know wants me to knit him something nice. I am still flipping through this book looking for the best one. Great ideas for dogs of all sizes.

Greetings from Knit Café by Suzan Mischer and Victoria Pearson à I love the anecdotes in this book about the coming of the cafe. I also love how each pattern is linked to something that occurred at the Knit Cafe. I aspire to have a lovely Knitting Cafe like this one in my future. I hope to combine my two loves: Cooking and Knitting! We will see how it goes.

Knitting for Peace: Make the World a Better Place One Stitch at a Time by Betty Christiansen and Kiriko Shirobayashi à I love the patterns and information about all the different non-profit organizations. We should all knit to warm the hearts of the globe.

*Note – these are all personal opinions on the above texts.

EDIT: Please let me know what you think of these books… I would love others input!

Leave a Reply

